Kuala Lumpur is the first stop for the All American Boys Chorus (AABC) who is on tour of Asia. Their first performance was a Charity Premier in aid of the Spastic Children Center, organized by the Rotary Club of USJ, and Kelana Jaya.

AABC members are 9 – 14 years old. They represent the finest of America’s youth in their appearance, diversity and manners. They are superbly trained singers with dynamic showmanship. In the words of the US Ambassador to Malaysia, “The AABC is an institution”.

All American Boys Chorus

All American Boys Chorus

I’m ashamed that I’ve not heard of them before this, and as a music lover, I’m still not over the excitement of ‘discovering’ them in Kuala Lumpur. On reading the concert brochure, I knew it would be a great show, as America is synonymous with Holywood and they are the best in entertainment. I was not dissapointed.

When the curtain raised and the music rolled in with a choir of 35 boys, in stunning bright red blazers the auditorium at the KLPAC transformed into a huge magical music box for the next 1 1/2 hours.

The voices in ful harmony rendering great songs from America, were so beautiful that even if there was anyone in the audience with impaired hearing would most definitely have been inspired. One person in particular who deserved an extra credit is Mr. Wesley Martin, the AABC Music Director, and the ‘conductor’ who added the icing on the cake with his danceful body movements as he directed the choir throughout the performance. To me, he was simply delightful.

Wesley Martin, the Music Director

Wesley Martin, the Music Director

The members of the AABC mingled with the audience after the show, and truly these boys are charming, and their manners would make their parents proud. Frankly, I’ve some reservations on American mannerism, but these boys as cultural ammbasadors changed my paradigm.

Maryam with the AABC

Maryam with the AABC

I’m glad I went to the show with my family, we were overjoyed, especially my 7 year old daughter who asked me when we reached home, “Can we see them again?”

One for the road

One for the road

Surely, it was an evening to remember.

Visit All American Boys Chorus

southoc